F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Gauge cluster comes on ONLY when using front brakes

  #1  
Old 08-29-2009, 08:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 45
Default Gauge cluster comes on ONLY when using front brakes

Ok so everything has been fine for a while but just the other day as I pulled in to work I put my kickstand down and usually it shuts the bike off, I simultaneously let go of clutch and it stalls no big deal I come back to ride home and the gauge cluster is showing nothing but as soon as I pull the front brake in everything lights up..... any ideas? Thanks in advance
 
  #2  
Old 08-29-2009, 09:43 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
Default

i'm not too sure, but mine is doing something similar. seems like mine is the front brakes or doing 60mph or a combination of both
 
  #3  
Old 08-29-2009, 10:47 PM
chainstretcher's Avatar
Admin Emeritus & MVN
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conyers, GA
Posts: 6,908
Default

Is this only when your going that hitting the brakes gets the gauges to work or does it also work standing still?
 
  #4  
Old 08-30-2009, 12:29 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
Default

on mine the speed show 0 all of the time unless it's actually showing the speed, when the key is turned on it does the max out deal and then drops back down to 0
 
  #5  
Old 08-30-2009, 01:50 PM
chainstretcher's Avatar
Admin Emeritus & MVN
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conyers, GA
Posts: 6,908
Default

boostless -- your problem sounds like the speed sensor in the tranny or the cable. Something loose or maybe a little corrosion.
 
  #6  
Old 08-31-2009, 09:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 45
Default

Originally Posted by chainstretcher View Post
Is this only when your going that hitting the brakes gets the gauges to work or does it also work standing still?
Stand still and while the bike is in motion. Took the bike out today its still doing it. Very strange it started happening out of the blue any ideas?
 
  #7  
Old 01-05-2013, 05:55 PM
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Originally Posted by Bskinn77 View Post
Ok so everything has been fine for a while but just the other day as I pulled in to work I put my kickstand down and usually it shuts the bike off, I simultaneously let go of clutch and it stalls no big deal I come back to ride home and the gauge cluster is showing nothing but as soon as I pull the front brake in everything lights up..... any ideas? Thanks in advance
Were you ever able to solve this problem? I'm having the EXACT same issue right now.
 
  #8  
Old 01-05-2013, 08:03 PM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 7,860
Default

This was 3 1/2 years ago...
 
  #9  
Old 01-06-2013, 05:10 PM
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Originally Posted by 74demon View Post
This was 3 1/2 years ago...
I realize that... but when I can't seem to find the answer or even the same QUESTION anywhere else, it doesn't hurt to try =)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Gauge cluster comes on ONLY when using front brakes


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.