F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

frame sliders? are they really worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2006, 02:14 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default frame sliders? are they really worth it?

Just wondering what everybody thinks about frame sliders. I'm fairly new to the sportbike world (picked up my f4i in may). Do they really protect the bike. Are they designed to protect the frame or the fairings or both?[sm=feedback.gif]

Old 11-04-2006, 02:33 PM
Default RE: frame sliders? are they really worth it?

They are designed to protect the frame. If they happen to save plastic, well you got lucky. In some instances they actually make things worse. I have seen the long frame sliders dig into the dirt when the bike leaves the track and start it tumbling, which as you can guess made the crash 10 times worse. I have them only because my bike came with them. And I've thought about taking them off. It's a tough call. Some swear by them. I have seen them save plastic too.........so it's hard to say. My advise would be dont fall over.

Old 11-04-2006, 03:57 PM

same concept as seat belts, yeah sometimes they cause more damage than if you didn't have them but MOST of the time they will save your bike
I've had two huge crashes on the track and wouldn't have a bike anymore if the frame sliders hadn't been there

Old 11-04-2006, 08:25 PM

I had a 45 mph highside on an SV and the frame sliders limited the damage to a broken shift lever and ding on the tank. I couldn't stand the first couple weeks riding my F4i without them. I thought for sure I'd do something stupid.

Old 11-04-2006, 09:57 PM

whats the best frame slider for the f4i i know you have to drill holes in the ferrring to put them on but metal or plastic how long should they be? i have seen the ones that bolt to the frame rail in the hole openings on the side of the bike but i would think those would bend back when you lay the bike over.

Old 11-05-2006, 03:08 AM