CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   F4i - Main Forum (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/)
-   -   Electrical Problem. Ideas? (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/electrical-problem-ideas-154295/)

PiotrTheGreat 03-28-2016 06:53 AM

Electrical Problem. Ideas?

Took it to a shop, still have no idea what it could be

Zealot 03-28-2016 08:17 AM

I'm a total amateur in regards to this, but could it be shorting out? I'd be checking connectors, wires, fuses, etc. Regular and rectifier too while you're at it.

What'd the shop say?

PiotrTheGreat 03-29-2016 10:12 AM

Originally Posted by Zealot (Post 1294558)
I'm a total amateur in regards to this, but could it be shorting out? I'd be checking connectors, wires, fuses, etc. Regular and rectifier too while you're at it.

What'd the shop say?

Shop said "stripped screw on positive battery terminal"

They put a new screw on, I'm still getting this

Joe Rogers 04-01-2016 07:53 PM

I hope you didn't pay for that diagnosis! First thing I would do is put a meter on the stator and see what its putting out. This wont fix your problem but if your regulator is putting out too much then you can easily fry electronics. I don't have experience with this on bikes, but I have seen it more than once on cars.

Zealot 04-01-2016 09:00 PM

Originally Posted by PiotrTheGreat (Post 1294576)
Shop said "stripped screw on positive battery terminal"

They put a new screw on, I'm still getting this

You're going to have to start running various tests. I'd grab a meter and check what's going where.