F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Dropped copper washer during valve adjustment

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2014, 02:45 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dropped copper washer during valve adjustment

Hello, newbie here. Been lurking for a while, but I've made a terrible mistake and now I need some guidance.

While doing a valve adjustment, I dropped one of the copper washers from the cam cover and the stars aligned to make it roll down into some god-forsaken hole that I didn't even notice before. I've attached an image with the aforementioned hole marked in red.

I have no idea where it leads to and the washer is nowhere to be seen. Since it's copper, I can't use a magnetic pick up tool. I've tried a wire bent into a hook, but I'm fishing blind.

I'll remove the oil pan early next week, but I'm not too hopeful. Can anyone tell me where that hole connects to? Is there any chance it goes straight to the sump and my nightmare will be over?

Attached Thumbnails Dropped copper washer during valve adjustment-copper-washer.jpg  
Old 03-02-2014, 07:47 PM
Received 35 Likes on 33 Posts

Since its an oil drain, chances are very high it goes strait to the sump. I can't say for sure but chances are good.

Old 03-02-2014, 08:10 PM
Super Moderator
Received 30 Likes on 20 Posts

Bummer!!

I too am reasonably sure it goes all the way to the sump - I would bet however that it narrows at some point - head to block joint and it probably has lodged there.

Have a look at this diagram..........

You need to keep trying with a thin piece of 'stiff' wire with a hook bent in the end to 'fish' it out.

Alternatively remove the sump, find where the oil gallery emerges and blow back up it with compressed air.

Good luck.

Cheers, SB

Old 03-02-2014, 08:19 PM
Super Moderator
Received 30 Likes on 20 Posts

Or you could do this*...........................

And shake it like buggery!

This CBR250 owner dropped two shims down the oil drain.

Cheers, SB