F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Couple of newbe question?

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2010, 10:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Couple of newbe question?

I just bought an 06 F4I with 4000miles on it. This is my first bike and so far I love it! I love to play around with cars but ive never done anything to a bike before. I have a couple of questions about maintenance - What is the best oil/oil filter to use? How often should I clean and lube the chain? Whats the best cleaner and lube for chain? Where can I get stock colored fairings(Blue and black with red F4I)? I look at some of the sites ive seen on these forums and all the fairings are after market. How often should spark plugs be changed? What other maintenance should be done? Thank you for the help its very much appreciated! Sorry for the dumb questions but like I said im totally new to bikes

Old 09-06-2010, 10:27 AM

Do you have a service manual? That is one of the first things you should get.

This site here will help you with most of your questions..
http://www.shraz.net/motorcycle/f4i/

As far as fairings, I'd look on eBay or your local Craigslist.

From what I see, barely joining this site, the F4i scene is not that big. I hope this is where the best 'strictly F4i' forum is. Either way, I'm liking the community and positivity so far.

Old 09-07-2010, 08:57 AM

Oil - Mobil 1 Racing 4T 10W40 Motorcycle Oil - the bottle has a picture of a motorcycle on the front and the back says "for wet clutch primaries"
Look in the owners manual, it shows how to check the oil level.
Make sure the level is ok.

Chain cleaner/lube - I have got amazing results with Dupont Teflon Multi Use Lube that you can get from Lowe's.
Just spray on the chain and wipe with a kitchen tissue paper, removes all the dirt without having to scrub or brush. Do this every 1000 miles.

Old 09-07-2010, 09:17 AM
April 2011 Ride of the Month

Originally Posted by siCk f4i
the F4i scene is not that big.