F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Couple of downfalls of the F4i

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2008, 01:29 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Couple of downfalls of the F4i

After returning from a track weekend at gingerman raceway in Michigan this weekend I am forced to see a couple of really big downfalls with the F4i. I've been tracking her for two years now and there are really a couple areas that make me realize why Honda raced this model for so short a period of time (only 2 years).

1. The Drag Race - This bike is really bad out of the corners. Even with all the quick accelerating mods I've done to her she still comes up short out of the corners. This becomes very apparent when chasing into the corner. I am great on the brakes! I can out brake most guys on the F4i, and she enters the corner like a champ, BUT if I fail to make the pass in the corner then I am in trouble. At full throttle I find my adversary pulling away. I am forced again to play out the same scenario into the next corner. Constantly having to force the bike into the chase tires you out fast. There were a few times where i simply ran out of energy and was forced to back off. The bike just can't compete in the straights with even the 600's of the same era. Very frustrating.

2. Transmission and Shifter Throw - There is nothing more frustrating (or scary) than powering down the front straight and having the bike drop out of gear. It happens exclusively when I just don't quite power the shifter up as hard as I could (because I'm in a hurry, its a racetrack). The shifter seems to have an inordinately long throw. I've had the transmission inspected and it is fine. It has to do with the shift star itself. I haven't tried the aftermarket one yet but it is definitely on the christmas list.