F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

clutch slipping cause??

Old 11-22-2009, 10:10 PM
July 2010 ROTM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default clutch slipping cause??

ok so my clutch is slipping. its an 04 f4i and its got about 12k on it. but it doesnt slip from a start. from a standstill its fine, even with 2 people, i can hammer it hard and no slip. when im up about 8k rpms and start to try to get it up higher it slips. but itll cruise at 8k all day long. its really weird feeling, it pulls really hard all the way up till 8k then about 8.5k its like i pulled in the clutch. it just falls flat on its face and revs out.

do i need a new clutch? im fine with that, i just would rather not put a new one in if i dont have to. ive read here on the forum that its bad to use car oil. im running mobil 1 5w30 thats what a buddy of mine told me to run, he runs it in his bike with no problems. is my oil the problem?

also on a side note, whats the red Fl light on the gauges. im new to the f4i i thought the light was low fuel but then i filled up and it was still on. the bike runs great, except for the clutch slipping and the batterys crap.

Old 11-23-2009, 03:17 AM
Official CBRF Welcome Crew Undercover Agent
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If the slipping started after you changed your oil, then that's likely your problem. If it's been ongoing, then you probably need a new clutch. It's posible also that the oil change simply exacerbated the worn disks.
With the FI light, that's a malfunction indicator to your PGM-FI (programed fuel injection). You're going to have to perform a self-diagnosis of you ECM (electronic computer module) to see what codes it gives you. This will help you isolate the problem.