F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Chain adjusting plate moving

  #1  
Old 09-18-2011, 01:31 PM
96shox's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 219
Default Drive Chain adjusting plate moving

So I loosened the rear axle nut and adjusted the chain slack yesterday. After a short ride the adjuster plate moved in a few mm making the chain very loose. The axle nut was torqued down to 70 ft-lb.

Anyone know why this could be happening?

Also, what position are the 2 adjuster bolts supposed to be in? (if you have adjusted it before you know there is that space between where the bolt is loose and turning it does not adjust)
 

Last edited by 96shox; 09-19-2011 at 01:29 PM.
  #2  
Old 09-19-2011, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 2,012
Default

The 2 adjuster bolts go in whatever position gives the correct chain slack. You set the chain, tighten the axle bolt and your good to go. Have your torque wrench checked.
 
  #3  
Old 09-19-2011, 05:53 PM
MadHattr059's Avatar
Retired Super Moderator - At large E=MC2
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tulsa,OK
Posts: 2,299
Default

Should be some index markings to get you in the ball-park. Sight down the
chain/sprockets to see that they are all lined up correctly.
There should also be a 'replace' mark on the indexing to tell you
when the chain has worn-out. If you are all the back on the
adjustment, you need a new chain/sprokets.

Ern
 
  #4  
Old 09-20-2011, 02:36 AM
96shox's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 219
Default

MadHattr, thanks, but my chain and sprocket are new. I understand about the markings and their use for alignment, but still my problem remains;
I adjust the the chain slack (its near the new side), I torque down the axle nut properly, but after a ride there is too much slack.
 
  #5  
Old 09-20-2011, 05:05 AM
Incognito's Avatar
Official CBRF Welcome Crew Undercover Agent
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Colorado, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,907
Default

For me it's always been a trial and error thing. Best thing to do is approach it with a clear headed objective mind and don't get frustrated. Like you, sometimes I'll set my slack, take it out for a spin, come back and find that it's totally loose and way out of spec. Why does this happen? Hell if I know. What's the solution? Do it over and tighten it again. Also remember that the chain will lengthen a little bit when it is heated.

I will agree also that the adjusters are not particularly accurate nor easy to read and do have a bit of slop in them. I count the number of turns to get me even on both sides, then I center the chain on the sprocket so that it tracks evenly down the middle and doesn't rub solely on one single side while I spin the tire.

Another thing you will notice is that once you have everything all lined up, when you torque the axle nut, the wheel will shift and get ****-eyed again, so you'll have to compensate for that shift when it's time to torque it down.

Finally, make sure that the threads on the axle and the nut are free of grease. If they're not totally dry it'll loosen up on you.
 
  #6  
Old 09-20-2011, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 2,012
Default

You sure the axle is moving? Or is a crap chain loosening?
 
  #7  
Old 09-20-2011, 12:53 PM
96shox's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 219
Default

Incognito, thank you...

boredandstroked...is DID a crap chain?

slightly besides the point is that the f4i's chain adjuster has 2 design flaws, one is that the adjuster bolt has a gap between tightening and loosening the chain and the second is that there is no lock nut for the adjuster bolts.
 
  #8  
Old 09-20-2011, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 2,012
Default

DID normally isen't crap but stuff happens.
As for the adjusters, they aren't flawed. The adjuster bolts don't matter after you've tightened the axle bolt. Normally after tighening the axle bolts I'll tighten the adjuster bolts a tiny bit to keep pressure on em.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
cschew
F4i - Main Forum
5
04-26-2012 09:05 PM
srtcbr
F4i - Main Forum
1
08-09-2009 06:36 PM
CBR Chic
CBR 600F4
3
04-24-2009 09:47 AM
jahnaboi
CBR 600F2
0
01-01-2008 02:03 PM
punchit
General Tech
4
03-31-2007 06:20 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Chain adjusting plate moving


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.