F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Cam Chain Tensioner, WHAT!?

Old 09-27-2006, 01:22 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam Chain Tensioner, WHAT!?

OK, here's the story: just bought a 02 600F4i with just over 10,000 miles and perfect fairings. Life is good. I'm still a bit of a newbie, but the bike checked out fine when I bought it, and all was well UNTIL i get this little rattle. I have two techs listen to it and they're split between 5 hours of labor plus parts, or a random rattle. I change oil, but getting into motor stuff freaks me out. Any hints on a diagnosis, or am I stuck with the shop on this one?

Old 09-27-2006, 01:49 AM
Default RE: Cam Chain Tensioner, WHAT!?

im 90% sure its the CCT.. its normal...i have the same rattle and i am planning on putting a APE manual one in when i have the time.. the rattle will not hurt the bike at all. its just really anoying! [:@]

Old 09-27-2006, 01:59 AM

could be the cct, but it would help if you were more specific
does the rattle occur all the time or only at certain RPM's?
the CCT(L) usually rattles around 5-6k RPM's
if it rattles at all RPMs there could be a more serious problem

Old 09-27-2006, 02:26 AM

Could someone define this 'rattle' a little more clearly? I havent heard anything I could call a 'rattle' from my bike. Maybe im just used to it, or maybe im listening for the wrong type of sound.

What i picture is the sound of a chain dragging over a peice of metal and being rpm dependant.

Old 09-27-2006, 12:53 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

it sounds like bb's in a can...and usually, when in first, take it up to 8k, you'll hear the rattle and feel the vibrations from the rattle under the tank, next to the right knee area...as you let off the gas completely and let the bike engine brake, you will likely hear the rattling and feel it getting worse as it approaches 6K and maybe top out around 6-5K, then slowly go away as you get to lower RPMs.