F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

California ecu in a 49 state bike

  #1  
Old 01-02-2018, 06:36 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
Default California ecu in a 49 state bike

Hey everyone, I had the ecu go out on my bike earlier this year and the shop I took it to had one on hand (cali ecu) and I was up and running quick. The fi light blinking code 23 which is a faulty o2 code for cali bikes only. Didn't bother me til now. I was wondering if my 49 state bike has the o2 plug in the wire harness somewhere? I want to get this running perfect and need to install the bypass resister so it fools the computer but idk if I even have a plug for o2 in my harness. If not should I sell the ecu and get another?
 
  #2  
Old 01-02-2018, 10:33 PM
CaBaRet's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,051
Default

Hi , I think it would be easier to sell/swap your ECU than go through any re-wiring.Is the bike running richer since the change
 

Last edited by CaBaRet; 01-03-2018 at 05:27 AM. Reason: Added
  #3  
Old 01-03-2018, 11:02 AM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 7,684
Default

Your 49 state harness probably doesn't have the o2 wiring and connector. You would need to replace the harness with a Cali one and use an o2 delete to make it work, and hopefully not have evap purge valve issues.
 
  #4  
Old 01-03-2018, 01:47 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 1,998
Default

Cali harness or any 2006 model sold in the US has O2 sensor, everything else doesn't have the plug built in.
 
  #5  
Old 01-03-2018, 03:45 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
Default

just pulled my ecu out and checked the harness for the correct wires at the plug, they are not there guess I gotta sell mine and buy another to get this thing proper
 
  #6  
Old 01-05-2018, 05:43 AM
CaBaRet's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,051
Default

Hi, just thinking a little laterally, why not make your own connector , using the wiring diagram and pin-outs on the connector and then by-pass it, could cost less money, but will need a little wiring and splicing done, they are both 22 pin grey and black connectors , as you have the ECU its just waiting for a connection, should be something on line as how to by-pass the O2 sensor, not sure but I think you might have to by-pass this if you were going to add a Power Commander
 

Last edited by CaBaRet; 01-05-2018 at 07:34 AM.
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Hung88
CBR 1000RR
2
07-15-2009 12:13 AM
lesjh00
CBR 929RR
1
09-21-2008 09:47 AM
todd1803
F4i - Main Forum
0
03-17-2006 01:28 PM
nald
CBR 600RR
3
09-28-2005 06:48 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: California ecu in a 49 state bike


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.