CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   F4i - Main Forum (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/)
-   -   buying used bike, opinions (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/buying-used-bike-opinions-94772/)

WOGGIES 06-03-2009 03:59 PM

buying used bike, opinions

Hello, I am taking the DMV motorcycle in July and will be in the market for a used motorcycle afterwards. I've looked at Craigs List and have found many bikes that I would be interested in buying. However, being I am new to motorcycles, I am not sure what to look for when buying a used bike. I would hate to spend a couple grand on something and then find out it needs repairs.. or worst case..be riding it and have it malfunction. I've heard that many people abuse their bikes and then sell them.. any opinions are welcome. Thank You!

Elfling 06-03-2009 04:36 PM

Honestly- if you get something for a couple of grand and it's not a 250, it's going to need some work. May be just general wear and tear but, example: my 02 f4i cost me 3k. I'll end up putting another thousand into it just doing things like grips, mirrors, paint, tires, chain/sprockets, oil change, etc. It was a pretty well cared for bike mechanically, it's just time to do stuff.

*always* go see the bike in person. You can tell a fair amount about the condition of a bike just by seeing it, even before you turn it on. Do the fairings fit well? Is the chain clean? Is there rust/dents anywhere? Anything obviously replaced, for bad or good?

If you don't feel comfortable enough taking it for a test drive, have a friend who's more experienced come along. Check out the brakes, the throttle, how's the engine sound- boggy or does it purr steadily?