F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Bought a crashed 02 CBR600F4i, best place for replacement parts and tips?

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2011, 11:32 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bought a crashed 02 CBR600F4i, best place for replacement parts and tips?

Hey guys.
I am new to motorcycles but I've always had a passion for them, just never had the chance to buy one.
I found a place that sells salvaged bikes and they had this 02 CBR600 F4i for $2k with a cracked front fairing and bent forks. The lip on the front wheel also has a small bent on it. After some negotiation over a week long period I managed to get the bike for $1500 out the door, so $1380 before taxes. They also have used parts and will sell me a good set of front forks for $200. The wheel can be easily straightened at a local shop for $50 and they also check the rotors.
The only other things I would need to get this bike to perfect condition is the front fairing and a new headlight since one half is broken and the front fairing is a small piece missing from it so I can't really plastic weld it, unless I fiberglass and bondo it.

Anyways, this is the story of what I have. I think it's a decent bike to get started with and chances are I will drop it once or twice at first so might as well be with a bike that is not worth crying over .
The engine sounds excellent. It has an aftermarket exhaust but I don't remember the brand. It has aftermarket shifter and the rear brake lever is aftermarket. It also had a steering dampener installed but I opted not to take it as they reduced the price by $300 for it. I know they are $450 but used they sell for $200 and I don't think I will need it for a while, especially not on my very first bike.

Back to the topic. What's a good place for decently priced parts, new and/or used? I am a big fan of forum classifieds so that's the first place I check but are there websites that sell parts for less than half the value of the book for a fairing?