F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Bike Started Smoking?

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2010, 07:27 AM
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Bike Started Smoking?

Hey Guys,
I have a 2001 F4i with 21k km on it. I was driving home yesterday in the rain and noticed when I stopped at the lights there was smoke coming up from under the handle bars, near the rad.
I just recently installed a Devil High Mount exhaust and ddm HID headlights. When I installed the HID's 1 of the intake resivoir box was already removed for wiring for the Hand warmers so I removed the other one and covered them both with tape so nothing would fall in the open hole.
I dont think that would cause the engine to smoke But I'm still a newb to bikes. Other then that nothing has changed, I havent been hard on it.
And the smoke wasnt just water on the exhaust, it had a smell to it, Im just not sure what the smell was.

Any help would be greatly appreiciated

Old 09-28-2010, 08:39 AM
October 2011 ROTM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My guess is that is is water and oil from the road getting on hot parts so you have nothing to worry about. Ride it on a day that it is not raining. If you don't see smoke or smell anything strange than your good. If you do then it will be much easier to see where the smoke is coming from.

Old 09-28-2010, 08:52 AM
April 2011 Ride of the Month

Originally Posted by R Dub
My guess is that is is water and oil from the road getting on hot parts so you have nothing to worry about. Ride it on a day that it is not raining. If you don't see smoke or smell anything strange than your good. If you do then it will be much easier to see where the smoke is coming from.

yea lol this would be the guy to listen to.... his bike has has everything humanly possible wrong with it haha... I wish hed just decide to keep it and buy my sets already

Old 09-28-2010, 09:04 AM