CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   F4i - Main Forum (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/)
-   -   bike keeps stranding me..whats going on?! (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/bike-keeps-stranding-me-whats-going-130602/)

SirFlow 09-08-2011 10:16 PM

bike keeps stranding me..whats going on?!

Hello all. So ill try to recap, but let me warn I'm very new to bikes. So I have an 05 f4i, and was having no problems for past year.

This season, 5 times now, bike has started up and ridden fine, getting me to my destination, but when I go out to restart I can't get it running. the fuel pump runs, the lights come on, but when I hit ignition, lcd flickers, clock resets, and it won't start.

So, I take it to dealer, they check charging sys (had this done twice now), says its good, and send me off with a brand new , fresh charged battery. Then, it happens again...

So, back to diff dealer, who says because I was running hi beams all the time, any time it was idling, it was slowly draining battery. Ok, so I stop running hi beams. He re-charges battery and off I go.

Few weeks go by, and no probs. So, yesterday, ride to destination, when come back to restart, its starts, but sounds kinda weak, like it just barely had enough juice. Today, once again, ride to store, come back out 10 min later, and I'm getting the flickering lcd thing, and had to roll down hill and pop clutch to get goin.

I'm getting frustrated, as you can imagine, and goin back to dealer, for third time tomorrow, but I can't imagine what could be that they couldn't catch first two times... I just want to be able to rely on my bike to get me home, haha.

Any advice would be appreciated, gentleman.