F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Baffling FPR...

Old 03-08-2011, 06:23 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Baffling FPR...

Ok guys , this is starting to become one of those gremlin chases that seems to never end and I could really use a fresh look on this.

I'm a fairly competent mechanic and I work on a diagnose and cause elimination process so, buying stuff and hoping to fix it is not an option.

Take in consideration that the bike starts, runs and pulls as new apart from a slightly erratic idle -1200 to 2000

-Here's the deal, I notice a small smell of gas when the bike was idleing but there was no blue, white or black smoke coming from the exhaust.

-Checked my oil level - it was higher than before, so I assume some "extra" gas was being dumped in the cylinders.

-Took tank off to check the FPR, vaccum hoses and plugs

-Testing FPR/Injectors leak : without the airbox, wide open throttle while ignition was off, then turn ignition on to see if any gas dribbled down the injectors = No dribble

-Removed vaccum hose from FPR and it was completly dry
Blow and sucked on the vaccum hose and seems good, it's completly sealed

-Started bike with vaccum hose off the FPR and no gas came out

-Installed hose, started bike, give her a few revs while looking at the intake and the injectors seems to be putting out the same amount and same spray pattern of gas

-Removed plugs and they were all dry, no soot and tanned looking

BUT there were 2 plugs with the terminals sligthly rusted: *1plug and coil and *3 plug and coil

NOW here's my doubts:

*Can a weak sparking plug not burn the gas being dumped and allow it to run down to the crank?

*Is it possible that the FPR only fails and dumps more gas to the injectors when the bike is running?

*Will a clogged Fuel Return Hose forces the FPR to fail under load?

*How could there be gas in there unless the FPR was bad, even if it seems to be ok?