F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

aftermarket turn signals misbehaving

  #1  
Old 04-11-2012, 06:49 PM
mnguyen84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 421
Default aftermarket turn signals misbehaving

So I bought these neat mirrors with the led turn signals in them. Before I wired them up, the turn indicator arrow on the display would only appear and flash when I engage the turn signal. I assume this is normal behavior.

After I wired the turn signals (cut, solder, tape), both of the turn arrows appear on my display (not flashing). They are just light. They only flash when I engage the turn signal.

Another thing is that my turn singles do not blink. If I engage the left or right, then one of them just turns off. they don't blink. And if I do not engage them, then they both stay lit like fog light.
 
  #2  
Old 04-11-2012, 07:57 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 25
Default

Sounds to me that you wired them wrong and somehow it's back feeding power. Maybe you wired them into two hots instead of hot and ground.
 
  #3  
Old 04-11-2012, 08:34 PM
mnguyen84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 421
Default

i looked into this, and apparently the led lights aren't drawing enough power to activate the flasher unite. Therefore, I have to either add these huge ugly resistors that may overheat in order to draw more power, or I have to replace the oem flasher relay with an electronic one. The former sounds lame, and the latter requires a lot of wire cutting and re-taping. Either way, it's too work for some stupid blinking lights. I'm grabbing a beer instead.
 
  #4  
Old 04-11-2012, 10:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 71
Default

Were the signals two or three wire signals
 
  #5  
Old 04-12-2012, 01:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Diego Area
Posts: 57
Default

replacing oem flasher relay is the way to go. I bought something similar to this

LED BLOCK OEM MOTORCYCLE INDICATOR FLASHER RELAY HONDA | eBay

it plugged right into the factory harness without splicing or soldering anything and that way it works with each corner of the bike so you dont have to splice resistors or anything like that. It also makes them flash the proper rate, though I never had a problem with them flashing, they would just do it super fast, which I always found annoying.
 
  #6  
Old 04-12-2012, 04:56 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 24
Default

there is a how to floating around somewhere that tells you how to wire it going from the stock 3 wire to the aftermarket 2 wire, you have to wire in some diodes. https://cbrforum.com/forum/how-mecha...unt-fix-18863/
 
  #7  
Old 04-12-2012, 08:11 AM
lewisF4i's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cincinatti Ohio
Posts: 134
Default

Had the same problem when I first wired my flush mounts... What I did was used the wire for running lights ( stock signals had a running light) all I had to was unhook that wire on each side and they work perfectly now ( they blink fast i need resisters still). So maybe give that a try before all that tedious splicing and rewiring

-Alec
 
  #8  
Old 04-12-2012, 09:04 AM
City Bike Racing's Avatar
June 2012 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 347
Default

Sounds like they are not wired properly to me. I ran into the same problem some years ago on my old gsxr. I went to test them and they blinked once and then stayed lit. After rechecking my wiring I realized i had wired it wrong. After fixing my wiring error they worked perfectly.
 
  #9  
Old 04-12-2012, 10:28 AM
mnguyen84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 421
Default

it could be that i mis-wired it. i tested the wire from the orange/blue connector for +/- before cutting them up. There were 2 wires in each of the orange/blue connector. But when you mix up the +/- wires, wouldn't the LED not light up?

There is also another wire in a white connector. When I googled the white connector, some post somewhere said it was for running lights and not related to the blinker wiring. So I avoided it. :\

i'll double check it again, and I might invest in an led relay from ebay.
 

Last edited by mnguyen84; 04-12-2012 at 10:49 AM.
  #10  
Old 04-12-2012, 10:33 AM
mnguyen84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 421
Default

that relay has 2 pins. the one for my f4i has 4 pins. how did you connect them?

Originally Posted by Aleksander View Post
replacing oem flasher relay is the way to go. I bought something similar to this

LED BLOCK OEM MOTORCYCLE INDICATOR FLASHER RELAY HONDA | eBay

it plugged right into the factory harness without splicing or soldering anything and that way it works with each corner of the bike so you dont have to splice resistors or anything like that. It also makes them flash the proper rate, though I never had a problem with them flashing, they would just do it super fast, which I always found annoying.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: aftermarket turn signals misbehaving


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.