F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

1st time this has happened......

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2007, 08:10 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1st time this has happened......

took my bike out for a chilly ride this morning and i get halfway down my road and notice im doing "0mph"........when i was easily doing atleast 45mph and my mileage wouldnt budge. i pulled over, turned off switch, turned the key and did it again. the speedo did its normal things, nothing out of the ordinary but then as i started riding it stayed at 0 again. so i turned around to head home and as i downshifted for a turn, the speedo jumped up to 30, then went through random numbers like it was trying to keep up w/ me going from 30......10.....3......38....ect. it was almost as if it needed to be warmed up because i went back out and by the time i got to where i was going (8mins away) it was working fine and did fine all the way home.

anyone else have this happen to them? i mean, its working fine now so "if it aint broke, dont fix it".......but it seemed as if the guages were cold, lol. i let the bike warm up before i left to about 120 and its in the low 50's this morning.........idk.

Old 10-28-2007, 08:46 AM
Ironmang
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: 1st time this has happened......

Almost sounds like a speed sensor going out. I've heard of a few other people having speed sensors go bad on their F4i's. Not terribly common but heard it a few times. I don't have my service manual with me right now, but I would imagine there is a testing procedure to check it to make sure

Old 10-28-2007, 08:53 AM

nice.....expensive?

thanks for the quick response Jared. i hope all's well at the new casa! hey, now you're closer to MD!!!!!!

Old 10-28-2007, 08:55 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts