F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

06 CBR 600 F4i; 4K miles, won't start

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2008, 07:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 06 CBR 600 F4i; 4K miles, won't start

First post here. I've looked around a little while and saw only slightly similar to what I'm experiencing so thought I'd ask a new question.
I obviously only ride occasionally. I had the bike sort of put up for the winter last year. I started riding regularly (for me) in March. In June, the battery died. Wouldn't even light the display. I went to buy a new battery. Here's where it gets interesting:

1. Bought new battery in June 08
2. Bought my first trickle charge battery tender so the new battery wouldn't crap out like the "old" one that came with the bike.
3. When not riding, have faithfully kept it plugged up.
4. Rode steady through the summer and fall.
5. Rode 2 weeks ago on an all day ride, no problems. Stopped and restarted the bike all day.
6. Two weeks later (yesterday) the bike would barely turn over. Killed the "new battery"

By this time, I had recharged the old battery and put it back in the bike. It drained it down while trying to start. It just wouldn't catch.

Today, I had a friend come over and we removed the battery entirely. We hooked up the cable leads to my Ford F150 truck. The truck battery started to turn it, but not quickly enough.

Started the truck and left it running. Stayed on the starter until we heard a slight catch, hit the throttle slightly, it died.

Waited about 10 mins.

Tried the starter again, after 45 sec to a min, it finally barely sputtered to life and went to idle. We let it run just a bit, hit the gas hard, it died.

Had to wait another 10 mins.

45s - 1 min of hard starting later, it cranked again. We let it run up until the fans kicked in at 221F. Got on the gas and was able to slowly increase the revs pretty high, but as we came back down, it died.