F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

05 CBR 600 F4i Undertail

  #1  
Old 05-06-2010, 08:26 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default 05 CBR 600 F4i Undertail

Hey Guys,

I was browsing through some of the other under-tail threads, but I had a few questions of my own...I looked at the kit from Mototeck, and I liked it a lot...but I was wondering

a. Will this fail inspection (since it is not DOT approved)
b. Voltage and Wattage on the LED lights...any specific electrical information I should be looking out for?
c. Installation process...difficulty level from 0-10 (10 being hardest)
d. I will have to purchase a license plate bracket for this, correct?

http://www.mototeckinnovation.com/pr...cat=118&page=1

This is the kit.

Anyone other suggestions on a nice under-tail kit for the 05 F4i besides this?

Thanks guys (sorry if this is a repeated thread)!
 
  #2  
Old 05-06-2010, 08:36 PM
GBCBRf4iRyder's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Green Bay
Posts: 89
Default

Well first it will pass any inspection it has brake lights running lights and turn signals (providing you hook them up right lol)
Also the wiring is pretty easy and will not take you very long to do but Im pretty sure that you will not need to add any resistors or relays (dont take me for 100%)
The installation process is pretty easy on these....main thing is be sure to measure twice and cut once. The hardest part I had with mine was figuring out a way to get my lock cyclinder to stay put and the lock cable to be able to release the seat. Difficulty I would say a 3 if you have some sort of mechanical knowhow and a 7.
And yes you could purchase an actual bracket or you could go to your local harware store and get an "L" bracket and mount your plate to that.

The only undertails I would really recommend is the hotbodies and the pimpbikes. I bought the pimpbike undertail for my 02 f4i and I love it. it took me around 1 hour to cut the original plastic mount the new undertail and wire it all up (it then took me another hour to figure out how to get my lock cable to work as I had to jerry rig it up a bit lol)

But I would say that that is a nice looking undertail and it will deffinatly make the bike look a lot cleaner and smooth.

My 2 C's
 

Last edited by Zero1080; 06-09-2011 at 09:58 PM.
  #3  
Old 05-07-2010, 08:25 AM
dave ls1's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 538
Default

I did this Hotbodies undertail on my 2005
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/04-06...Q5fAccessories

I got it on clearance for under $75 unpainted. Then painted it flat black so it kind of disappears (and doesn't look dirty).

 
  #4  
Old 05-07-2010, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 231
Default

+1 for the hotbodies. Thats what I'm running on my '04. That ebay one isnt the best price though. Bought mine at: http://stores.sportbiketrackgear.com/Detail.bok?no=3716
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-2010, 10:31 AM
james_hale2's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: lawton, ok
Posts: 181
Default

you dont "have" to put any resistors in it will just blink a little faster than stock. i thinks it looks better and more noticable faster anyways.
 
  #6  
Old 05-07-2010, 11:33 AM
April 2011 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,692
Default

i love that undertail ive been tryin to convince some one to get it since ive seen it out ha...

but yes i should pass inspection... wiring shouldnt be too hard by any means
 
  #7  
Old 05-07-2010, 02:15 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks a lot everyone...I appreciate it...I think I will go with the hotbodies...and thank you LoneWolf for the cheaper website!

I won't need any additional parts to mount my license plate correct?
 
  #8  
Old 05-08-2010, 01:37 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 231
Default

Originally Posted by CBR-Kash View Post
Thanks a lot everyone...I appreciate it...I think I will go with the hotbodies...and thank you LoneWolf for the cheaper website!

I won't need any additional parts to mount my license plate correct?
Not a problem. But it comes with brackets to mount the license plate with. You will however have to drill 2 holes on where you want your license plate to be. Dont ask why they didnt just drill them from the factory... but they didnt. Its simple enough.
 

Last edited by LoneWolf04; 05-08-2010 at 01:55 AM.
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Kuroshio
General Tech
3
10-26-2009 09:55 AM
VTcbr
F4i - Main Forum
12
10-13-2009 04:46 PM
jjbarky
CBR 600RR
2
05-30-2008 03:06 PM
clockworkcbr
F4i - Main Forum
10
12-21-2007 06:36 AM
birde
CBR 929RR
4
05-16-2006 02:32 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 05 CBR 600 F4i Undertail


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.