CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   F4i - Main Forum (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/)
-   -   02 CBR600 F4i strange issue (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/02-cbr600-f4i-strange-issue-132051/)

02cbraf 11-02-2011 05:57 PM

02 CBR600 F4i strange issue

Okay guys i am desperate to find out what is wrong with my bike! Let me just jump right in I have had the bike for about 3 weeks and up until about two weeks ago it was great. I took off on a little ride (about 30 min) around town and through the country, when I got back in town at a stop light I noticed that my headlight was bliking on and off, when i started riding it stayed on when i got about 3 miles down i stalled the bike and it wouldnt start again. ( I pushed it home about 1 mile) I went and bought a new battery for it charged the battery and was fine or so i thought. Rode it to wal-mart when I got there i saw the headlight was off again, got someone to push me off got home and left it. Came back out 4 hours later and it started right up mulitple times. Went out the next day and wouldnt crank. :icon_wheel:. I took it to the local Honda dealer and they said it was just a connection and they fixed it. Well it is not. Started off to church to night and noticed I needed gas, so when i stopped at the gas station noticed the light was flickering off and on again brought it home and turned it off and wouldnt start agian.:icon_wheel: I NEED SOME HELP (Charleston SC)

74demon 11-02-2011 07:11 PM

sounds like charging system malfunction. whats your battery voltage @4-5000 rpm? should be 13.5v to 14.5v.

jeffjones 11-02-2011 07:30 PM

My bike had a similar problem and it was the Rectifier.
They are notorious for going on the F4i

02cbraf 11-03-2011 05:31 PM