CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   F4i - Main Forum (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/)
-   -   01 f4i fuel pump not priming (https://cbrforum.com/forum/f4i-main-forum-11/01-f4i-fuel-pump-not-priming-136062/)

jworkman78 03-27-2012 07:04 PM

01 f4i fuel pump not priming

So my bike has been running fine up to this point. I tried riding it today and went to start it and the fuel pump doesn't prime. I'm new to working on this bike so I am learning as I am going. I wired the fuel pump up to the battery to see if it was bad or not and it runs fine when connected to direct power source. when i turn the ignition key all of the gauges move and light up but the headlight does not turn on which i know means something (BAS sensor) any help would be much appreciated. also i do not know where any of the sensors or relays are that you guys talk about so when you talk about one of them can you let me know where to find them on the bike. Thanks!

LT.Dan603 03-29-2012 03:41 PM

not sure but it might be your kill switch came unsolderd open it up and check it out if it something else post it up

jworkman78 03-30-2012 09:58 AM

ok i will do that. could it also be the headlight is burnt out? i think i read on here that cbr's might have a safety system if the headlight is burnt out that it won't start?

dveldtf4i 03-30-2012 01:15 PM

Could be the bulb connection is loose. It'll run as long as there's a connection even if it's burnt out.

I'd check all wiring harnesses and double check to make sure there's nothing grounding out. Also check the kill switch and kick stand switch.

Kind of the same thing that happened to me, and I never found my problem, but after disconnecting/reconnecting everything in the front end the problem went away.

jworkman78 03-30-2012 03:47 PM