F2 Tech Tech Subsection (for any mechanical, repair, and DIY threads)

Won't turn over, battery charged

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2011, 01:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Won't turn over, battery charged

My bike died while I was putting it away for the winter, so I didn't bother winterizing it because I knew I'd have to tear it apart anyways. I took it out of storage yesterday and tried to start it and got nothing. The fan and lights work. I jumped the battery anyways to see if this would make any difference, but the engine will not turn over at all. I plan on draining the tank, cleaning tank and carbs, changing the coolant and the oil. I think the carbs need to be sync'd also. But there's no point until the engine can even turn over. Where do I even start with diagnosing the problem?

I'm fairly new to motorcycle maintenance so dumb it down for me. The weather is finally nice and I want to ride!

UPDATE: I put the kickstand in and engaged the clutch (IDK if there are even sensors in this old of a bike) and the engine cranked a couple times. The fan and lights are operated by a separate switch and when I turned it on, I heard a rattling noise which got stronger when the fan started running faster, weaker when the fan was turning off, stopping completely when it stopped. The engine cranked a couple times and stopped when I pressed the ignition switch the first time. It did nothing the second time, but cranked a few times on the third try before stopping.

Last edited by drmmrguy28; 05-08-2011 at 05:18 PM.
Old 05-08-2011, 05:23 PM

Try looking at your starter solenoid to see if it's sticking or has corrosion on its terminals ... the next place to look would be the right hand switch assembly (where your start button is located) .... then check the terminals on the starter itself ..... see if that gets ya anywhere .... let us know if there's still problems

Old 05-19-2011, 10:49 PM