F2 Tech Tech Subsection (for any mechanical, repair, and DIY threads)

F2 - F4i Gauge swap write up

  #1  
Old 04-08-2009, 05:07 PM
kpnupe's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 73
Default F2 - F4i Gauge swap write up

After much research, trial and error, and the search button i got it working
What you need

1. F4i gauges
2. 95-98 900rr front sprocket cover with speed sensor
3. Crimper
4. about 5 feet of wires
5. Quick connect female/ Male connectors (i like quick connects)
6. Alot of time.
edit_----
7. Speedohealer V4


First cut the ends off your f4i gauge and expose all of the wires and crimp the quick connect to the wires. Its smart to use all males on one end so you don't mess anything up later when connecting the wires.

Strip the wires from the F2 that go to the original speedometer and crimp the quick connect plugs on it.

Here is the wiring diagram that you will need to use for these wires.


F2 colors ==== F4i colors

Tachometer
Yellow / green ==== Yellow/Green

Temp
Black/ Brown ==== Green Blue

Left turn
Orange ==== Orange

High Beams
Blue ==== Blue

Neutral
Light Green / Red ==== Light Green / Red

Oil Pressure
Blue / Red ==== Blue / Red

Side Stand
Yellow/ Black ==== Green / White

Right Turn
Light Blue ==== Light blue

Dont know what this wire does but it needs to be connected.
Black/Brown ==== Black/Brown

Speedometer 900rr Sensor

black wires goes to black/brown,
pink wires to pink/green
green goes to to green/black.



Red/Green goes to battery



Wires that you dont use (from tach)
Brown/Black - fuel reserve sensor -*not used
*****************************************
White/Blue - fi indicator - not used.


Also you need to wire in a speedohealer so the speedometer can read the correct speed otherwise it will just read up to about 20mph when your really going about 80-90mph



Im going upload some pictures and a video of it working
 

Last edited by kpnupe; 04-18-2009 at 04:33 PM.
  #2  
Old 04-09-2009, 12:11 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Hurry with the pics and video!!! I wanna do this ASAP
 
  #3  
Old 04-09-2009, 06:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 69
Default sweet

Only one question, does it look stupid? I mean, does it line up nice with the rest of that area or did you need to mod something. Also, does it bolt right up and can you use the same stay?

Other than that, I would like to do this to my bike. I am almost done painting it and just put an integrated tail light on so this would go nice with my newly finished old bike. lol
 
  #4  
Old 04-09-2009, 06:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 69
Default How much?

Sorry forgot to ask how much all this ran you if you don't mind?
 
  #5  
Old 04-12-2009, 12:38 PM
mitch91cbr600f2's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8
Default

hey did u need to get a speedo healer for it? If so which one?
 
  #6  
Old 04-12-2009, 12:45 PM
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 100
Default

any pics?
 
  #7  
Old 04-12-2009, 04:56 PM
kpnupe's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 73
Default

uploading the pic's right now, trying to get the video working. Also, on a side note my speedometer stopped working (well it only goes to 18 since i believe i have shorted out the sensor) never the less it still works. I have ordered a new sensor and waiting for it to come
 

Last edited by Sand.Man; 04-12-2009 at 06:18 PM.
  #8  
Old 04-13-2009, 08:05 PM
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 100
Default

any pics on this...im actually really curious to this and im in serious consideration of this
 
  #9  
Old 04-17-2009, 11:29 PM
kpnupe's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 73
Default

just uploaded a video of this working here is the link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VHlP1-FW4Lg

----edit you need a speedohealer to get the correct speed to show....... here is some more information on this http://www.rrzone.com/forums/showthr...?t=3545&page=6
 

Last edited by kpnupe; 04-18-2009 at 12:41 AM.
  #10  
Old 04-18-2009, 06:05 PM
mitch91cbr600f2's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8
Default

they say use a v3 and u got the v4 whats the difference and what percent did you do?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: F2 - F4i Gauge swap write up


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.