F2 Tech Tech Subsection (for any mechanical, repair, and DIY threads)

Crash tested extended frame sliders. Worth every damn penny!

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2010, 11:01 PM
Banned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crash tested extended frame sliders. Worth every damn penny!

Hey everyone.

So I was just cruising along to work today, traveling at a mellow pace down a city road, and then this lady apparantly decides to make a sharp right hand turn from the left lane accross my lane (the right lane) and BAM, I hit her

Nothing I could do about it unfortunately. Lady pulled right in front of me out of nowhere, no time to stop, nothing. I lit up the front brakes as best as I could, I honked, but of course I still I just ran right into her. Bike tipped over onto it's right side, I went down with it of course, and it slide along.

Post the crash I stopped by a shop to get a quick assement on if it's still ridable. I felt confident, but I'm no mechanic. They asked some quick questions, gave it a once over, and point out some key areas to address with the adjuster. Anyways, the one thing I wanted to share with you was this... the mechanic said:

"Without that frame slider this would have been significantly worse"

So there you have it folks. Get frame sliders. Crash tested, me approved.

Oh and I'm fine. I'm not even that shook up, although I am notciably a bit more hesitant around cars. That really just shook everything up for me.

Old 03-21-2010, 03:25 AM
Banned

*bump*

I'm surprised you guys have nothing to say! Normally you're all a pretty verbose bunch!

Old 03-21-2010, 04:29 AM

Sweet!

Are there any way to hook up these sliders without drilling a big *** hole in my fairings?

Old 03-21-2010, 07:18 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Well you said you're ok jnic. That's the thing that counts Now please, please tell me a cop read her the riot act and her insurance agent came by to smack her!