F2 Tech Tech Subsection (for any mechanical, repair, and DIY threads)

After cleaning carb bike runs fine & then all the sudden the engine wont start=\

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2012, 09:06 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default After cleaning carb bike runs fine & then all the sudden the engine wont start=\

My engine had run fine after a nice carb cleaning (just picked up the bike btw) and after riding for a week i go to start it the morning after not riding for 2 days and it starts with a little choke, and then slowly starts to die and it keeps starting and turning off until finally, no start at all. all I hear is the starter motor. any ideas that i can try? I am not a total noob so I can figure out any thing with a little advice, but I am not a guru yet so any help at all will be greatly appreciated =)

Old 09-17-2012, 12:06 AM

i miss riding my f2 already. i guess there is always gonna be a little something when buying and older bike =/ just makes me lonely when I can't ride lol

Old 09-24-2012, 12:10 AM

Im just gonna say it. Your making it really hard to help you guy. give me something to go off. how do your spark plugs look, how about your air intake, are your fuel-lines or vent hoses pinched anywhere? how about your battery? check your idle control? maybe you have it turned down all the way. are your float bowls siezed? can you keep the bike running while the choke is open? does it get good compression. you should get a clymers service manual. It will help you learn alot about it, and check parts to see if they are working properly. I cant help you if you dont give me more info on the matter.

Old 09-24-2012, 09:35 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I'm with ***** - need to know what you've done/checked.

sounds to me (and ***** from the questions asked) that your carbs are basically running out of gas after they've been allowed to sit and fill up a little.