CBR 929RR 2000 - 2001 CBR 929RR Forum

Opinion?...new motor or part out?

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2007, 11:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Opinion?...new motor or part out?

Hello,

I just purchased a 01' 929 from a bank repo, with clear title...the bike was cheap enough for me to buy sight-unseen as a toy. I am an old school rider and hot-rodder...meaning 20 years riding and owned many old school bikes (Ducati, Suzuki, Kawasaki, Honda) but have never purchased a model newer than 98'...therefore, the design parameters and the new fabrication methods, I have been reading on this site, for the last several days are impressing to say the least for this bike. I am a structural and forensic engineer by degree, so working on the bike would be fun, "BUT" how far I am willing to go, brings me to my question???? The bike fired up, but the motor is gone (rod)....but the rest of the bike is very solid. I have torn the bike down to the point to drop the motor and am now at a cross road?....buy a good used motor????...and enjoy what seems to be a great overall bike.....or not waste my time and part out not really knowing the market for the parts for this type of bike. So I am respectfully asking the members opinions as I am on the 50/50 split here for a winter project or part out. Thank you for your time!

Old 12-31-2007, 12:21 AM
Retired Moderator ans All Around Good Guy
Default RE: Opinion?...new motor or part out?

there is a huge market for 929 parts. people are always looking for quality parts because the sad fact is most people who get these bikes destroy them . so we search all over for parts. i myself just bought a 01 clean title 929 that needed work and am in need of parts and have been lucky to find the parts i needed after only 2 weeks of looking. so basically i say keep the bike and drop in a good motor and enjoy it. it is honestly thebest bike i have ever owned ( owned another 929 previously and thats why i bought another one)