CBR 929RR 2000 - 2001 CBR 929RR Forum

I think im overheating... and exhaust servo question

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2019, 11:24 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I think im overheating... and exhaust servo question

First - im no mechanic and am not a genious with vehicles...

I've had my '01 since its birth, so I feel like i know how my own personal bike goes pretty intimately... 2 years ago I changed mechanics, was unhappy with my current one and was told about a mechanic who only does japanese and knows sports bikes particularly well (even had pretty good reviews). First service was also a rego check (Australia) and it seemed to go ok. Its been in 4 times since, and i've had 3 bad experiences - the next was another service but i'd also broken my exhaust servo and asked them to replace it (i know, i could get an eliminator and I have one, I just dont like the sound of my bike with the elliminator). When I came back they went "its not your exhaust servo, its your air box servo". I said "yes, its the same servo" and in my head was thinking "why am I telling you this?". So they replaced the servo as well (its the 3rd servo its chewed up).

Next service, riding away the FI light came on, got to where I was going and this time i had a "MAP error" - checked it out, sure enough they'd disconnected the MAP sensor and not re-connected it. Not so impressed with that...

Next service - this time I opt for a major service. "Yeah, she was great, didnt need to adjust a thing".. but ever since that service, she's been coughing a bit below 2500 rpm (never has my bike struggled at low rpm), seems to idle relatively ok, but occasionally had truoble starting it. Its weird cause its almost exactly 2500 rpm where it just instantly stops struggling. Its also not consistant with that, sometimes it seems fine, sometimes it feels like its really struggling and I can find no set of conditions which cause it.