CBR 900RR 1993 - 1999 Honda CBR 900RR

My cbr is eating my gas and not starting and i mean EATING

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2011, 08:27 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation My cbr is eating my gas and not starting and i mean EATING

wheres it going? i just installed numerous new paarts into my 93cbr900 and the pump sucks the gas out of the tank but the fuel pump only turns on when i try to turn over the bike and it continuously pumps away and shoots all my gas into my carbs but wont start! where is it doing and its not leaking! like its litterally sucking my gas out of my fuel filter after it fills it up all the way and just takes it all in less than 2 seconds of my trying to start it but it wont turn over, it wants to turn over realllly bad and sometimes is will with the choke on but it revs super high! and then sputters and dies out then wont start again. any suggestions? im new to this bike stuff and i have done everything myself properly but now my bike is acting up again and when i give it throttle on the choke itll die a majority of the time! its sadddddd grrr, any help would be aprreciated! sorry ima noob! hahaha

Old 05-16-2011, 01:34 PM
Default fuel

sounds like the fuel is filling up your carbs and flooding your engine. Looks like carb refill time....

Old 05-16-2011, 01:50 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Floats could be stuck.

Old 05-16-2011, 04:52 PM

I mispelled "REBUILD" time

Old 05-17-2011, 11:25 AM

First, it seems like the pump is working properly.

If the gas is coming out of the carb bowl overflow hoses, very likely you have one or more stuck floats. You will need to remove the carbs, disassemble them and most likely you will only need to clean them thoroughly.