total noob seeking enlightment

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2006, 05:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default total noob seeking enlightment

hey guys. i'm a total noob to the motorcycle world. i have been looking at some posts that were put on here by other people so i'm not going to ask the ever stupid questions.

i would like to get a RR as my first bike. i know a lot of you said that it is a bad ideea and that people can't control themselves, but i'm more dilligent with that kind of stuff. i will take the rider training course so that i can pass my road test and get some driving experience. i also totally understand the dangers of havinga motorcycle. i read some of the posts and i noticed that the majority of the accidents that took place were becasue the person was not careful or tried somehting outside their skill level.
i'm 21 and am planning on using to bike to go to school and arround town. again i know some of you might recomend me something else but i think i would really enjoy this bike.

i passed on the R6 jsut for the reason that it is to fast or faster then the RR (stack that is) and becasue i wanted something that would last me for a longer time. the guy @ the dealership said that honda's are better at that.

anyway, my question is: WHAT ACCESSORIES SHOULD I GET AS A BEGINNER?

i already looked this up on the board and i thought that sliders would be a good ideea. also of course a gull protective gear is in order as well.

also if anybody has any suggestions on WHAT I SHOULD BE WATHCHING FOR WHEN BUYING A RR?

as i said before i don't know anything about morotcycles so i don't know how to look for "lemons". i just want to make sure that if i buy a used bike, the person that used it before did not smack it arround and treated it like crap.

i know there are a lot of knowledgeble people on here so i will take your advice. but please no noob smack talk, we all have to start somewhere and a little encouragement never hurts.

so cheers