Questions about blipping

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2006, 04:51 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions about blipping

I'm still pretty new at riding and wanted to get some better understanding of blipping while braking and downshifting. I know the general idea and the reason behind it, I just wanted some clarification on a few things. As far as I know, the sequence is:

1) pull in the clutch
2) blip the throttle
3) downshift
4) release clutch
*Correct me if I'm wrong anywhere here.

Now do you pull the clutch in all the way before you blip or just a little?
When you release the clutch, is it a gradual release or just release it quickly?
Do you release the clutch all the way or just a little?
Do I have to release the clutch or can I simply blip, downshift, blip, downshift, etc...?

Any feedback would be appreciated, thanks.

Old 04-21-2006, 10:48 AM
Default RE: Questions about blipping

I'm still practicing blipping the throttle, and I've been riding for over 2 years. IMO the hardest part is getting the RPMs just right. Sometimes I hit just right and I can feel it, other times I'm off and there's either too much engine braking or I get that short quick jerk of too much RPMs. It is definitely an art and I praise Road Racers. It also has me contiplitaing buying a slipper clutch, but I'm like naw, I'm not going to drop that loot right now.

It's all feel, but you won't be pulling the clutch in all the way. If you hit it just right you don't have to pull the clutch in at all. I've done it on my old bike, but I'm trying that shyt on my new bike just yet.

Old 04-21-2006, 11:50 AM

meh u couls skip that whole process and just shift at redline

Old 04-21-2006, 11:52 AM