Newbie here with a serious question...

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2007, 05:30 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here with a serious question...

Hi all, new to the forum here. I realize I’m on a CBR forum, but need to ask a question. Not trying to start a flaming war. I’m looking for opinions from some of the mature guys here who do a good deal of street riding and maybe some 30 minute commutes. I’ve done Google searches already. I’m subscribed to all the 4 major cycle magazines and have been reading the reviews all year. I’m coming off of a 2004 Honda 599/Hornet/CB600 (naked I-4 F3 engine). I’m looking at getting a full faired bike now and can’t decide between the 2005-6 CBR600rr or 2006 GSXR 600. I can’t afford an 07 CBRrr (where Honda has apparently raised the bars by about 10mm, so if I go HondaI'm stuck with the older RR, 2005-2006. I've sat on the new ZX6r and the Yam R6...both of these feel horrible to me. So, I'm down to the 2005-2006RR and the newer 2006 GSXR. I'm quite concerned about the reliability of the gixxer. Everyone on the gixxer forum says the relieability is there...but I don't expect them to admit to an inferior product if it is in fact inferior. Keep in mind that if I were to go with the GSXR it would be the newer 2006+ design.

I’m 5’9”. I’ve sat on the GSXR and it’s small cockpit actually feels pretty good to me ergonomically. The CBRrr feels like I’m stretched a bit and feels like the seat is a bit higher so I feel like I’ve got a bit more weight on my wrists…but the bars are a bit wider and not swept back as much as the GSXR and I like this about the CBR.