NEw 600RR Break-in & Set-up

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2005, 04:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NEw 600RR Break-in & Set-up

Hey all,

I am new to this site, and just wanted to start off by saying that this place is a great source of info on all things CBR. I have been riding for about 18 years now, and my wife has been riding for about 2 ½ years. I have owned many many bikes in my riding career, but my last Honda was a 1988 CBR 1000 Hurricane. I currently ride an ’05 Gixxer 1K and an ’05 R1. We just picked up a new CBR 600RR for my wife, and I am in the process of doing some post purchase research. I have two questions, which I am hoping to get some insight on.

1) I was reading the owners manual, (yes, I actually do read those things), and all it mentions about “breaking in” the bike is ….. and I quote “…. Avoid full throttle starts and rapid acceleration.” For the first 300 miles. This is on page 216 of the manual. Now, having ridden liter bikes for so long, I’m used to the 500 to 600 mile, “do not exceed “X” rpm’s break in guidelines. Does this seem odd to anyone else?!?
2) Second, does anyone know how to release some of the preload on the rear shock? My wife is all of about 5’4” and 120 lbs., and she does NOT ride aggressively. I want to accomplish two things with this change. I want to take a little height out of the rear end of the bike, and I also want to correctly set it up for someone of her size. If anyone can also advise on any other ways to take some height out of the rear end WITHOUT USING A DOG BONE!!!!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Old 08-31-2005, 05:42 PM
Default RE: NEw 600RR Break-in & Set-up