Bikes from a Police Officers Viewpoint...

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2006, 05:09 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bikes from a Police Officers Viewpoint...

I wanted to post in response to some threads I've read regarding speeding tickets, the police, and what happens when we stop you (or come to collect what's left of you).

First, concerning myself, I've been riding for 2 years, recently purchased a 2006 CBR600RR, and am in love with it. Anyway..

In the area I work there's a large number of bikes running up and down the interstate, most doing DC to Baltimore runs and trying to make the trip in 20 mins. Since I came on I've chased or stopped roughly 12-15 bikes, not bothering with groups. All of the bikes that ran and got caught got hammered. The ones that got away, well, got away. The three people that stopped, regardless of speed, were cut breaks to various degrees.

When I'm behind a bike that's speeding or filtering I consider the following things:

1. What are the traffic conditions? Is it 2am with no traffic? or 5pm rush hour traffic?

2. Is the rider speeding to keep his distance from other vehicles? or just gunning it for the hell of it? If he's gunning it, is it a matter of simple acceleration?, or going all-out?

3. What's the rider wearing? Is he or she wearing at least a riding jacket, good shoes, and gloves?....or t-shirt and flip-flops?
Regardless of if they get stopped, t-shirt and flip-flops is an instant negative.

As I get closer I look to see if the plate is visible, on the plate holder, or bent up to avoid ID. If its bent, you get stopped, whether you're speeding or not.

As I hit my lights: (for speeding or filtering)