Any good tips for first time riders with a passenger

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2007, 02:59 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any good tips for first time riders with a passenger

hey all, I tried searching the forums to see if anyone brought this up, and didn't find any. So my question is I'm still pretty new to riding I have about 200-300 miles under my belt and I was wondering what are some good tips I can give my g/f as a passenger and also what are some ways I can try and get comfortable with her on the back. thanks guys! and gals

Old 10-05-2007, 03:02 PM
Default RE: Any good tips for first time riders with a passenger

MSF class said not to ride w/ a passenger till 1000 miles or 1 year. I suggest even longer than that.
Just my 2cents

Old 10-05-2007, 03:08 PM

Yea I do remember them saying that...Yea maybe i'll wait until next riding season..Thanks oh and would you recommend my g/f having gear?

Old 10-05-2007, 03:14 PM

Yes... i make my girlfriend wear MY gear when she rides.. i wear whatever else i got.... basically while shes riding with me she is #1 priority.

Old 10-05-2007, 03:16 PM

That's cool bro, hmm maybe i'll just buy her some gear, cuz I know I get the 3rd degree from her if I don't wear mine lol we're practically married we've been dating atleast 6yrs now.

Old 10-05-2007, 04:14 PM

ORIGINAL: ze9900

MSF class said not to ride w/ a passenger till 1000 miles or 1 year. I suggest even longer than that.
Just my 2cents
I don't remember them saying that at the MSF course unless I missed it lol. Thanks for the tip!

~Ed

Old 10-05-2007, 06:15 PM

Actually what i have heard is 1 year or 3,000 miles, also BOTH of you need to be fully geared up whenever you ride.

"Total Control; High Performance Street Riding Techniques" has a great chapter on riding 2 up
I highly recommend getting that book.

Old 10-06-2007, 11:31 AM