Am i ready for a 600CC?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2012, 05:18 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Am i ready for a 600CC?

Hi guys, i've been riding for about 6-7 months now on my Honda CBR125R. It's a great little bike, but i'm really craving a bit of extra power. I was planning to upgrade in a few months, so by then i'll have about 9-10 months riding experience.

I commute to University, so i do 50 miles every week day. I have quite a bit of experience already, but i know that it can take years and years to master bikes. I've been reading up on 600CC and some of what i read has made me nervous, about how hard and uncomfortable they can be to ride, etc.

I really love the look of the bike, it's not too heavy and i can afford one. I'm being honest though, i know how much power these bikes have, am i ready for one or am i being too hasty?

Old 03-05-2012, 06:50 AM

I've been riding for only around 3 months, ive learned to ride and maintain bikes on a 88 600 hurricane. its been a thrill and ive only made myself nervous a few times, in my opinion if you think your ready go for it man just be carefull getting into it the 600's deffinetally let you know that your sitting on alot of power

Old 03-05-2012, 08:47 AM

I think you should be just fine on a 600 just don't be afraid of it. If your all jumpy on it then you'll get hurt. 600's aren't that fast. They're a really fun all purpose bike though.
Two big differences i'd guess will be braking and acceleration. Go easy on the throttle until you get a good feel for it and control stop your bike. Don't panic and jam the rear on and dump the bike and worse dont hammer the front and go over the bars.
If you can ride a 125 though you should be fine.

Old 03-05-2012, 09:39 AM
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Received 117 Likes on 107 Posts