2 day, 800 mile trip to save 1K?

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2007, 10:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2 day, 800 mile trip to save 1K?

Ok, here's the deal. I just got back from my tour, and amready to get my bike (financing etc...) However My local shop doesnt have any 600RRs in stock anymore. My salesman Joey has been SUPER cool though, I've been harassing him for the last 6 months (even while I was down in Iraq) and I'd really like to give him the sale. (Town & Country Motorsports in Warner Robins, GA,are GREAT. Idon't think I'll go anywhere else locally; there is another shop nearby, but they tend to sell expensive, and I didn't like their vibe when I was looking for info)

I found Southern Motorsports (in southern Tenesee) Is offering the 07s for 7900, (plus tax tag and title) but it is a 400 mile drive one way there.
Joey tells me thet he can match their price on the 1000RR (9K) with the ones he has in stock on the dealership (he's got Gray, Red, and Black), but that since he would have to look for the (White) one thet I want 600 from another dealer, he cannot go lower than MSRP on those, making the price on a 600, basically the same as the priceas a 1000.

So, Should I see if I can get Joey to go further down on the 600, and how much should I expect him to be able to go (he already told me flat out that I should take Tenesee's deal, cause he couldn't match it, But the long drive kind of intimidates me, since I've heard stories of people getting jerked arround on those deals)
Or should I Just gofor the LitreBike?
(Money is not really an issue I could afford either one, but I really like the 600 better, plus I havent ridden in 8 years, so the 1000 intimidates me a little)

Old 09-13-2007, 10:49 PM
Default RE: 2 day, 800 mile trip to save 1K?