CBR 600F4 1999 - 2000 Honda CBR 600F4 Forum

New guy with questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2010, 08:40 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy with questions

Im new to CBR's with a few questions.Lets start by a small intro
Im a mechanic by trade since the mid 90's,I work on Hydraulics,cranes winches,diesel engines and automobiles.this is my first Sportbike,I had several offroad bikes 2 and 4 stroke,repairing them all bike ranging from a 1920s Sears and Roebuck 2 stroke-03 CRF250
I have a CBR 600F4,it has 23k miles no fairings at all and hasn't ran in 2 years.The owner use to ride it alot but he bought a Harley davidson and parked the CBR in the garage.It has new ires with 20 miles on them and a yoshi pipe,everything else is stock

2 days ago I asked him for the CBR,the battery was dead and wouldnt take a charge so we used jumper cables and after 2 minutes of cranking and flooding she fired up,ran decent but had a slight miss when reved.Tried to unhook the jumper cables and she dies so we didnt ride the bike.being it started I made a deal with him on the bike.

I now have the new battery on the bike but wouldnt fire up,we removed the tank and plugs they look fouled and only one plug fired bright white all the rest were blue and orange,cleaned the plugs and the bike sputtered but no start.i just poured fuel stright into the carbs and cranked the bike and she only sputters and blows fire out the exhaust and sometimes thru the carbs.
I suspect that the fuel isn't making it thru the carbs because no matter how much I choke it it wont flood,the first time it flooded gas was pouring out the engine and thats when it started up,once it started up the gas stopped comming out the engine.