CBR 600F4 1999 - 2000 Honda CBR 600F4 Forum

"Jumpy" F4

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2010, 10:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "Jumpy" F4

Hi All,

This is my first post here, and in fact, I am new to the bike riding world. I took the MSF Class last year, but didn't end up getting a bike right away. My wife actually surprised me this year with a 2000 CBR600F4! It's my first bike, and I know it is a fast one, so I am making sure to take things slow.

Anyway, since i am new to motorcycles I really don't know how they are supposed to "feel" when running. For example, the question I have, is when the bike is in 1st gear and im cruising around the parking lot without giving any gas the bike feels "jumpy" and like it surges a little bit. Is this something that is normal? And when I drive the bike It sounds more "ticky" (I know these are all HIGHLY technical motorcycle terms) than I would expect just from hearing bikes drive past down the road. I guess it would likely be just standard engine noise, but just curious if all of this sounds normal to everyone.

Thanks so much for everyone's time.

Old 08-09-2010, 01:49 AM
Avi

the engine isn't designed for getting this bike moving at 1300 rpm (idle) . trying giving just enough gas to get it to 3K rpm. it should be smoother already.
in general in first gear any change in the throttle position will make the bike head shake. to get a smoother throttle reaction put it in 2nd gear. inside a parking lot you will be going about 20 mph , but it will feel much smoother.

last thing, enjoy the new bike!

p.s: be aware you are very lucky your wife buys you the bike, mine wants me to sell it !

Old 08-09-2010, 06:20 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts