CBR 600F4 1999 - 2000 Honda CBR 600F4 Forum

How often do you have to adjust your chain?

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2012, 05:42 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How often do you have to adjust your chain?

I have owned my 2000 F4 for less than 1500 miles now, and I seem to be having to adjust my chain VERY frequently.....like every 150-200 miles! It has a Non-o-ring chain (I am not sure if that was stock on these or not).... does that have anything to do with it? The chain was dirty and dry when i bought the bike, so I cleaned and lubed it right away, using Dupont teflon multipurpose lube. When I adjust the chain (to 1" deflection) it seems i can already notice it loosen a little even after the first 50 miles after adjustment! The teeth on the sprockets don't seem worn, and all else looks good......Any ideas, or is this normal? I am still new at this motorcycle thing!

Old 09-11-2012, 01:18 PM

could be on way out, shouldn't have to adjust like that. I did near the end of mine and now altered, shouldn't change in length for hundreds and hundreds of miles.

Old 09-11-2012, 01:38 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

^ I agree w/ Pug. Sounds like the damage has already been done to the chain.

Old 09-11-2012, 02:25 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by the600
When I adjust the chain (to 1" deflection) it seems i can already notice it loosen a little even after the first 50 miles after adjustment!
If you're only leaving 1" of slack you may be overtightening it, especially if you're not sure you're measuring at the tightest point, and especially if you're not measuring it with you sitting on the bike. There has to be enough slack that the swingarm can pivot up and down without stretching the chain. If you don't leave enough slack, you are stretching the chain every time you go for a ride.

Of course, if that's the original chain from a 13-year-old bike, it might be due for replacement anyway.

Old 09-11-2012, 02:41 PM