CBR 600F4 1999 - 2000 Honda CBR 600F4 Forum

a few total noob questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2009, 09:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default a few total noob questions

hello everyone, just picked up my first sport bike, a 2000 f4, and have a few questions..

i do not have a manual and am looking around ebay for one, but in the mean time i am trying to discover what the little semi-clear container with high-low marks and a black lid is? it is near the low level, is this a oil indicator?

also, during the first ride i noticed a odd rattling sound coming from the front, it seemed to go away at anything above about 20 mph or so, but it was very loud when i would hit any bumps in the road.. i am wondering if perhaps the bike is out of adjustment since i am heavier (230) then the previous rider? I dont know anything about adjusting the suspension so i suppose i will have to wait until i can get a manual for that.

but right now i am just trying to discover the oil level so i can at least know the motor wont be ruined if i go out for a ride or two..

thanks

Last edited by Taco22; 03-07-2009 at 09:24 PM.
Old 03-08-2009, 07:04 AM

Welcome to the forum first off. The little black lidded container is the brake fluid reservoir. I'm not sure what the noise up front would be.

Also my manual is one I downloaded off here in PDF form. It's way too big to print off but it gets me by. I know some people just prefer the book manual but thought I'd throw that out there for ya..

Old 03-08-2009, 03:15 PM
KLO

welcome aboard...d/l the pdf version and just print the sections you need and put it in a binder to make your own manual.

as for rattling...i suggest feel for everything..whether it a loose fairing to the radiator rubbing on something

good luck wit it

Old 03-08-2009, 08:37 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

http://hondatech.info/downloads/Moto/CBR/CBR600/