CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Suspension Canister???

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2011, 08:59 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension Canister???

Whats that weird pop can sided canister just above my exhust, it lets me adjust to harder or softer, and also lets me put some sort of compressed air in it.

What is it, how much psi should it be at, and finally I see people get cool monster energy or redbull covers on them- do you buy that or is it just a pop can cut and fitted? lol

I just bought a 95 f3 last week, Im new to the bike and this forum, thanks for the help guys.

Old 11-01-2011, 01:37 AM

It's a remote reservoir for the rear shock absorber. Pressure is likely to be high and it may not be air, could be Nitrogen or something similar. Best not to mess with it unless you are really serious and want to buy all the kit. By all means put a sticker/decal on it though.

Old 11-01-2011, 04:11 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

No dont mess with it. I just talked to the guys at Lindemen Engineering last week. They said the tire valve looking this is to put nitrogen in the shock. Like 250 psi, but it is a very tiny amount. You probly could not put that small of amount in it at home without messing something up. I asked about putting air in it and he said no. but the way I see it whats the big deal. The air we breathe is 80 % nitrogen anyway. I guess that extra 20% makes all the difference.

Old 11-01-2011, 04:18 AM

How about those monster energey pop can lookin covers, is that actually a pop can? or where do i buy one??

Old 11-01-2011, 10:24 PM

yes its just a can some guys put on there. I think it looks stupid but to each his own.

Old 11-02-2011, 07:35 AM

Originally Posted by coalminer frank