CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

someone jacked my key hole w/a screwdriver

  #21  
Old 06-24-2012, 09:34 PM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 7,845
Default

From what I can see by looking at the diagram, (it's a little on the blurry side when zoomed in for me) is you will need to wire the red wire to the other two. They both feed the fuse box. one is for the fan, the other for everything else. you don't want to ride with no fan...

A switch is a good idea, but you need to get one that can handle that many amps. To do it better, wire it through a relay so the switch isn't taking it all just activating the relay.

Can you get the electrical part off the tumbler. You may need to remove the top triple clamp and punch out the tamper proof bolts with a punch, but i dont know that they used those on the F3 so check it out. if you can get it off the housing, you should be able to turn the electrical switch with a screwdriver to turn it on. that's all the tumbler does, i do it on cars with key problems all the time.
 
  #22  
Old 06-24-2012, 10:01 PM
Registered Users
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Diego/Julian CA.
Posts: 93
Default

I have an alarm with kill switch, and pager. Pages me if it barely gets bumped or moved in any way.
 
  #23  
Old 06-25-2012, 09:57 AM
IDoDirt's Avatar
Retired Super Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Florida, USA
Posts: 3,187
Default

Originally Posted by MadHattr059 View Post
Put the switch between the red and red/black wires. According to the diagram I'm
looking at, that should do the job. I do want to add the caution...I haven't actually
done this before, so my advice is based on my reading the wiring diagram in the
Clymers manual correctly. I don't think I'm giving you bad advice or I wouldn't post,
etc., etc. If you want to be really sure, you might PM IDoDirt and have him look over
this post to corroborate my advice.

I just PM'd one of the other mods to see if he could look it over and be sure I'm on the mark.

Ern
The Ignition Switch has 3 wires going to it. The Red wire is the supply to it from the battery. It's protected by the 30A fuse. The other wires are the Red/Black and Blue/Orange (not sure on color, image is blurry). When the Ignition Switch is turned on, it connects all 3 wires together. If you're going to bypass/hotwire them, you'll need to wire a switch that will connect all 3 wires. Put the Red wire on one side of the switch and the other 2 on the other side. If you accidentally short one of the wires to ground, you'll pop the main fuse and have a dead bike. That fuse is on the Start Relay next to the battery. You can see the Ignition harnes wiring connector here in the image below. Make sure you use a switch that can handle the 30A. A relay would work as well, but is more complicated to install.

Name:  IgnitionConnector.jpg
Views: 297
Size:  62.0 KB
 
  #24  
Old 06-25-2012, 10:34 AM
candyf3's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 41
Default

How can i keep from short one of the wires to ground? And what is the size of the main fuse?
 
  #25  
Old 06-25-2012, 10:47 AM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 7,845
Default

Don't touch power wires to ground.
30a...
 
  #26  
Old 06-26-2012, 08:39 AM
Will.Bass's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Jacksonville Beach, Fl
Posts: 429
Default

aka, any bare metal on the bike. to make it easier, just disconnect your battery..
 
  #27  
Old 06-29-2012, 12:20 AM
candyf3's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 41
Default

Well i got my new ignition and got it put on without any real problems. I ordered the round key ignition off the bay and it seems to work great and i feel a lot safer about leaving it unattended. No more jerk offs sticking screwdrivers in my key hole lol thanks for all the info guys
 
  #28  
Old 01-19-2017, 12:43 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Default Wiring question

Does anyone have a good wire I can run accessories off of? I get varied voltage readings from my meter on the bike. Is there a wiring diagram in the forum I can download?
Thanks!
 
  #29  
Old 01-19-2017, 12:45 PM
hamlin6's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 1,780
Default

Hey friend,
You should start a new thread. This one is over 6 years old. You're not likely to get any help on this one.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mpnco
CBR 600RR
21
05-22-2007 02:22 PM
crazyhorse95gt
Off Topic
30
04-23-2007 12:17 PM
BigTX
F4i - Main Forum
17
04-04-2007 06:27 AM
Netto
CBR 600RR
22
04-14-2006 03:49 PM
cjbettis
CBR 600RR
23
02-07-2006 11:33 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: someone jacked my key hole w/a screwdriver


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.