CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Plastic

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2009, 09:25 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Plastic

So recently there was a "inland hurricane" where I live which is Carbondale, IL. We just got power last night and this storm took place last Friday. The winds hit in excess of 100+ mph. This storm tipped my 98 F3 over the kick stand and messed up the left side. I think it is beyond the epoxy fix. I am looking for some new plastic.

What do you think is the best thing for me to do. I didn't know if I should order some of the Hong Kong plastic that is all over ebay or what I should do. I don't have enough money to buy all replacement oem stuff. The right side has a few pieces broken just from the shock of that much weight hitting the ground.

If anyone has any suggestions please post. I love these forums and hopefully you will help a fellow F3er out.

Thanks again.

Jason

Old 05-13-2009, 04:42 PM

I'm new to the CBRs and sport bikes in general but I can tell you the little bit I know. I just picked up a 97 CBR 600 that was laid down. The guy bought one of those Hong Kong kits. The reason he sold the bike is that he couldn't get the kit to fit properly. With a little bit of tweaking I was able to get things to line up decent. It's not perfect but it looks ok and unless you were looking for flaws you wouldn't notice. I would say the worst part was getting the headlight to fit. The mounting holes didn't line up and had to be cut off and epoxied into the correct position.

Old 05-13-2009, 10:01 PM

All i Realy have to ask you is, How much do you love your bike? Yes you most likley could find a good deal on hongkong stuff, But if you have the money to spend to get the real stuff go with that. Seems pretty stupid when you could save that money, but really knowing that you are getting something that works is worth it.

And check with your insurance, they might help you out because of the weather? im no sure but its worth a try