CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

not sure whats wrong maybe carbs?

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2010, 09:16 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default not sure whats wrong maybe carbs?

Alright first off i'd like to say i'm new to the bike scene but so far love every bit of it...now onto my actually reasoning for posting this. I bought a 1996 cbr600 f3 for my 1st bike and well it starts up just fine revs up just fine everything. As I start driving off it does fine up til about 30mphs or 3rd gear and starts lugging like its not getting any fuel and if i put it in 4th,5th or 6th there is not power AT ALL just falls on its face and slows down and if i pull the clutch in and try to rev it up when its doing this it will just stall out. After about 4 months of it being like and sitting in a garage i pulled it out to drive it one more time before i sold it and some how it worked just fine and continued to do so for about 2 weeks and then the other day i went to start it up in the morning to take off on it and wouldn't you know it...its doing the same exact thing as before exactly! Any suggestions what it could be and where and what to look at? when i 1st bought it i changed the oil, plugs and wires. I'm new to the whole carb scene.

Old 08-18-2010, 09:31 PM

Sounds like something is wrong with your air valve thing.(dont remember what its called) It switches right around that speed so the ram air works properly.

maybe someone can help clear this up better

Old 08-18-2010, 09:52 PM

yeah for those two weeks it worked just fine shifted through all the gears was doing a 75mph on the interstate fine if i really tried to get on it hard though like whine it out it would start cutting out around 10k in every gear. whoever owned this bike before me really put it through hell!

Old 08-18-2010, 11:19 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post