CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

newbie questions....

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2007, 03:36 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie questions....

soo i recently got a 97 F3 and I'd like to work on it myself and do most of the maintence myself...but im new to it all, and have some newbish type questions...figured this would be the best place to learn.

the fuel injection cleaner, do I need a kinda made for bikes? or will the kind for cars work just as well?
do i need a jack stand of sorts to change the oil? or the side stand enough?
I didnt get any sort of owners manuel with it...is there some trick to get the seat off that im not seeing?

any help would be appriciated!

Old 10-23-2007, 03:40 PM
Default RE: newbie questions....

To take off the seat, you need to remove the side tail panels, be careful no to break off any tabs when trying to remove them. As for oil, it's best to have the bike upright during the end of draining to be sure that you get out all the oil. I highly reccomend you get yourself a clymers or hanes manual soon so that you have a better idea of what to expect when messin with the bike. Have fun and welcome to the site!

Old 10-23-2007, 04:26 PM

First off, no......you do not need motorcycle specific fuel injector cleaner, but you dont have fuel injectors either. It will work to clean out jets assuming they aren't SO far clogged that it wont work.

Do you NEED a rear stand? No way. But it does help come time to change tires and/or chains. Using it to change the oil is not necessary at all. Most drain plugs are off to the drivers side of the oil pan anyway just for that reason. Searching on here will help you immensilly when working on your bike. LOTS of useful knowledge here.

Old 10-23-2007, 05:15 PM

I was talkin more bout the stuff you put in the gas tank to clean up the carbs some?