CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Newbie buying advice

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2007, 09:38 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie buying advice

Hi everyone

I'm a newbie - taking my DAS test next week and hope to get a CBR600F as a first big bike. I'm 28 and can keep it garaged, so insurance isn't toooo painful. I'll be using it for weekend riding and the odd longer trip every month or two (4-500 miles).

I've got a max budget of £2000. What's most important - to get as low mileage as possible or to get as new a bike as possible?

Is there any particular year I should stay away from? How much is 'too much' mileage - I need something that's reliable and won't spend most of its time in the workshop. At what kind of mileage would you expect to need to do a major service (ie replace shocks, etc)?

Any advice would be much appreciated.
Safe riding,
Sam.

Old 08-22-2007, 09:52 AM
Default RE: Newbie buying advice

whats up sam?

First I would have to say milage is most important as long as the bike wasnt beat on too hard and properly taken care of. Im not sure about all the F series, but the f3's (95-98) are awesome bikes that are very durable. Some guys on this forum have 30k-40k miles on their bikes! You should be able to use common sense looking at a bike to see if it was properly maintained and well kept. Im not sure about the market and demand for bikes in your country but that seems like a good amount of money to find one of these. if you do find one, dont get too excited and jump on it first thing because you might end up paying too much
[align=left] [/align]

Old 08-22-2007, 09:55 AM

is that currency euros?? if thats right thats equivalent to around 2700 USD. So you can get an older 90's F2, or maybe a 95 or 96 F3 if you get lucky.