CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Hesitation at full throttle low RPM after sparkplug change

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2019, 05:14 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool Hesitation at full throttle low RPM after sparkplug change

Hiya members, hope everyone is doing well! I need to call upon your help once again.

Bike
I have a '98 CBR600F3 which is fitted with a K&N airfilter and Sebring slip-on. It's been like that since I got it and it has always ran beautifully.

Problem
The other day I brought it into the shop for a new front tire and decided to let them change out the sparkplugs since I have never done that before and I thought they were a pain to reach. Yesterday I took it out for a long ride and noticed a problem. When driving in a lower-RPM range ( 0 - 4500 RPM ) and snapping the throttle to the full-open position the bike will stutter and hesitate a lot. Eventually it will go and launch to redline without any problems. When i'm gradually rolling on the throttle there's no problem. The problems seems to be most noticeable in 2nd and 3d gear.

What I've checked
Now, I know the shop had removed the airbox and coils to reach the sparkplugs. So I decided to remove the airbox myself to check if there maybe was false-air leaks. I didn't found any. I have limited knowledge of coils and am not sure how I can check if they are not functioning properly. Also I have limited knowledge of fuel-mixtures but I'm a quick learner. I don't think this is a jetting-issue. The bike has always ran fine with this setup and only the sparkplugs were changed. When I start Googling myself I read advice from fuel-filter to jetting problems etc. I'm a bit lost where I should start.

So my questions to you:
  • Can new spark-plugs cause my problems?
  • Do you guys have some advice for to for stuff I can check myself?