CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Headlight power issues

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2011, 12:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Headlight power issues

hey everyone, here is the deal.

I have been working on my headlight after it went out a few days ago. At first I just picked up some bulbs because I figured it had just blown out. When I took out the bulb there was nothing wrong with it. The filiments were still in tact.

My next step was to check the plug to see if power was flowing through it. I have power flowing from ground (green wire) to low beam (white wire) but when I flip the low/high beam switch there is no power flowing through the ground to high beam (blue wire) connection. Do all of the connections have to be made for the headlight to work?

My understanding of electricity is if you have power flowing from the source to the ground the lightbulb should come on, so shouldn't my low beam at least work?

I am pretty new at fixing electrical issues so any help would be appreciated. Thanks guys!

Mitch

Old 06-12-2011, 01:05 PM
Super Moderator
Received 497 Likes on 449 Posts

Are you using a meter or a test light ? You should have power at the white wire with the ignition switch turned on. You're only going to have power at the Blue wire when the High Beam is turned on. If neither is working, then the most likely culprit is the Starter Switch on the right Clip-On. The wires break loose from the contacts inside the switch housing. You can solder them back on. Here is what it looks like inside with a broken wire.

The Black/Red wire I'm holding up is hot side coming from the Fuse Block. The Blue/White wire you see that is still attached goes to the Dimmer Switch.

Name:  DSC03157.jpg
Views: 1128
Size:  54.1 KB

Old 06-12-2011, 02:58 PM