CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   CBR 600F3 (https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-600f3-17/)
-   -   Clutch will not fully engage (https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-600f3-17/clutch-will-not-fully-engage-121964/)

_michael_ 03-04-2011 06:10 PM

Clutch will not fully engage

1 Attachment(s)
Hello,

I am fairly new to motorcycle riding (got my license last summer), then bought a '95 CBRF3. I have done some work on it, but am no expert.

Over this past winter it has been too cold to ride, so I parked the bike under a parking shelter here at my college. A couple days ago, I got a text from a friend saying that he saw that it was blown over (I am not convinced that it blew over, because the wind was not all that strong and it feels very sturdy when on the stand, but that is not the issue). Went and checked it out. Body damage is minor, but when I pull the clutch lever, the clutch does not fully engage. I took some of the plastic off and inspected the little swing arm over the clutch itself, and it looks fine. I tightened the cable tensioner enough that the clutch partially engages without even touching the lever, but when I squeeze the lever it still will not fully engage. The lever feels like it is working as before, and does pull on the cable.

Does anyone know what is going on here? Am I going to need a new clutch, or take apart this one? If so, is that something I will be able to do myself?

Thanks

Restlesswildman 03-04-2011 06:22 PM

Is the clutch lever bent? Are you trying to roll it without it starting it? Sometimes the clutch plates stick when it isn't running.

backyardmechanic 03-04-2011 08:55 PM