Choke help - Page 2 - CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners


Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #11  
Old 05-19-2017, 08:57 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Default

Ok thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-21-2017, 09:30 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Default

Ok so I have the carbs off..and I am going to clean them..the choke cable ks Un hooked..and when manually moved the choke slide on the carb..the choke fins inside the carbs do not move..but they should be moving correct? And what's needs to be clean in order for them.to function properly
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-21-2017, 10:01 AM
hamlin6's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 893
Default

Yep, they should moving.
I think you are going to be best suited to do a full on carb clean. IMO it's not practical or productive to try and just clean the choke portion. The reason is this. If you have gunked up choke, you can bet the rest of the carbs have issues.
There are plenty of threads on here and some great ones on youtube on carb cleaning.
If you do a full cleaning, after you are done, you will need to balance of the carbs also.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-22-2017, 08:23 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Default

Ok so I did a full on carb clean..and when I manually move the choke slide rail that should be attached to all the choke slides in the carb on the needles..none of them still move..ahhhhh lol
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-22-2017, 08:36 PM
hamlin6's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 893
Default

Can you include some pics or maybe a short video?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-22-2017, 10:34 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Default

Ok I'm going to try to post one tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-22-2017, 11:06 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Default

It wouldn't let me upload my video..I can try again later..here's some pics..of my choke slide..which is what my cable goes too..and the choke valves..I feel like when I push the slide..these valves should open..or maybe I'm wrong
Attached Thumbnails
Choke help-screenshot_2017-05-22-23-03-41.png   Choke help-screenshot_2017-05-22-23-02-58.png  
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-23-2017, 03:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Morecambe UK
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StillRacing2day View Post
Ok so I did a full on carb clean..and when I manually move the choke slide rail that should be attached to all the choke slides in the carb on the needles..none of them still move..ahhhhh lol
Hi , agree with everything Hamlin6 has said, and it could be one or two of your SE valves have stuck,dont force them because they can break, without taking the slider off ,get a pair of small pinch pliers and see if the small piston end will move out of the SE Valve (Starter Enrichment Valve) BE VERY CAREFUL, as they will only move less than quarter of an inch, DO NOT FORCE THEM, if they do move then it has to be your slider bar at fault, cannot stress enough to be careful, DO NOT USE FORCE
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-23-2017, 04:44 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Default

Yes when cleaning carb I pulled on the little piston. .that the slider bar attaches to..and they still don't move..
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-23-2017, 05:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Morecambe UK
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StillRacing2day View Post
Yes when cleaning carb I pulled on the little piston. .that the slider bar attaches to..and they still don't move..
They are the very devil to get out, if you take the slider bar off, you should be able to get at the SE valves nut, probably a plastic nut ,undo the four plastic nuts and spray some WD40 in to try and release them,watch out for the spring and the valve itself when thy come out, don't separate the four carbs because you will give yourself more trouble,once they are clean and operating as they should put them back in and replace the bar slide, soak the valves before you try to get them out don't try pulling them out or you will break the small piston on the end
Attached Thumbnails
Choke help-valve.png  
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
only run on full choke and shuts off..without choke mbrown22 CBR 600F4 3 11-23-2010 10:37 AM
Choke on low revs. Choke off crazy high revs. dalves11 CBR 600F 15 09-22-2010 04:47 PM
help! Bike choke at full throttle -- parts identification zhanyushi CBR 954RR 10 01-23-2008 06:24 PM
carb problems? choke problems? HELP! cr cbr CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 9 11-28-2006 04:36 PM
Carb (Choke) help 1000f andrewmr CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 4 07-21-2006 01:29 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.